Skip to main content

Dukes Win Lobo Invite in Stunning Display of Pack Running

Dukes Track Club after winning 2011 Lobo Invite

The Dukes faced tough competition from the UNM Lobos, the NM State Aggies, and the UTEP Miners in the State's largest cross country invitational this morning at UNM's North Campus Golf Course.  Despite having only one runner in the top ten, the Dukes placed all of their top five in the top twenty finishers and won the Men's College Open race outright.  The Dukes' relentless pack-running strategy carried the day, as their top five was separated by a mere 44 seconds (25:20 to 26:04).  Jesse Armijo was again tops for the Dukes and displayed his excellent cross country talent placing 4th overall.  Allen Wagner, Solomon Kandie, and Neal Holtschulte donned the Dukes jersey for the first time and are an impressive addition to the team. The Dukes will now turn their talents to the roads seeking Olympic Trials Qualifiers for the marathon this Fall.

Official results here.

Other outstanding runners competing for the Dukes today included: Chris Peverada, Mark Pepple, JD, Dana Patton, Loren Wohletz, and Trevor Manzanares.

The Dukes extend special thanks to their supportive fans, especially Lauren Patton, Josh Fristoe, Laura Bowerman, Laura Bresson and family, Maria & Emo, Mbarak & Liana Hussein and the Kenyan Contingent, Scott, and Miguel Sandoval.  Thanks for all the cheers. Go DUKES!

Team Scores:

#1           Dukes Track Club
4              Jesse Armijo
11            Allen Wagner
12            Neal Holtschulte
14            Kristopher Houghton           
17            Solomon Kandie
58            Total Team Points

#2          University of Texas, El Paso
3            Elkana Rotich
7            Justice Chirchir
9            Abel Koskey
10           Solomon Gardea
31           Juan Blanco
60           Total Team Points

#3          New Mexico State University
5            Jonah Ruybalid
6            Kevin Taft
15          Victor Sanchez
18           Ian Ruybalid
22           Ryan Fenton
66           Total Team Points

#4          University of New Mexico
1            Nicholas Kipruto
8            Pierre Malherbe
19           Edwin Herring
20           Allen Pittman
32           Gabe Aragon
80           Total Team Points


Popular posts from this blog

Carlos Sanchez Race Report

Columbia Winery 10-K to benefit Seattle Childrens Hospital
August 20, 2016RACE report:
Greetings folks, this is my race report from this past week-end.As a person who doesn’t really race much I could not pass this one up, as I love kids, and anything to benefit them is always high on my list.I have three crusades: child education, child hunger, and child poverty.With me being in this area for business and a 10-K whispering in my ear, well I am the rat following a pied piper to a good cause.Plus to race at sea level—I’m in!!
Now most of you who know me (and few of you do, but I plan to change all of that), know I bring up the back of the pack.I’m more of a mule these days, dragging my butt to the ground and my belly in a wheel barrow.I have re-invented myself as a runner many times, from the age of 13-28, a long vacation from running between the ages of 28-42 (ate much, drank more, lounged often) then hit a resurgence at age 42.By then my fast years were a memory, …

Run For the Zoo

The Dukes competed at the 31st Annual Run For the Zoo! One of the biggest races in the state! We had runners representing and placing high in the 5k, 10k, and half marathon! Pedro's picture was in the ABQ Journal!

Half Marathon
Cheryl Serena - 1:39:36 (6th overall female, 1st age group)

Pedro Rodriguez - 35:32 (1st overall)

Zach Chenoweth - 17:02 (3rd overall)
Joachim Marjon - 18:19 (7th overall, 1st age group)
Chris Sylvan - 21:22 (1st age group)

Shout out to Solomon Kandie for his win in the half marathon!

Congrats to all of our Boston Marathon finishers!

Congrats to all of our Dukes who competed in this year's Boston Marathon! The Dukes were represented by Jesse Armijo, Chris Valicka, Anthony Fleg, Jonathon Campbell, Matthew Liaw, Nate Gentry, and Stephanie Ward!